running & little gym

The weekend is over, and we had one of those really great ones that was crazy full of stuff and now I feel like we need another weekend to recover.  I ran my first 5K!  My sister & I (and some of my sweet neighbors) ran the Color Me Rad 5K in Raleigh.  I have a few before and after pictures I’ll post another day, but I was too scared to run with my camera… even our waterproof tough camera.  It probably would have been fine in hindsight, but I didn’t know how much crazy color we were in for!  My favorite part was when we were running up to a color station (there were stations for each color, about one every 1/2 mile or so) and there was just a mist in the air and all you could see was purple or blue or whatever.  It was awesome!  I wasn’t sure I would be able to run the whole thing but I did.  And it kind of gave me the running “bug”… I’d like to run a real 5K now.  This one was an open start line so you started whenever you felt like it, and it wasn’t timed.  Don’t think any other race would be so much fun though, this was a great first one!

While I was doing that Brandon took Charlie to Little Gym.  We debated for a while about signing C up for this class but I’m really glad we did.  It’s worth it for the entertainment value alone- babies who can barely walk trying the balance beam.  Seeing Charlie all pumped up when they dump the huuuuge bin of all sorts of balls- that’s my favorite.  It’s a really cute group and he gets the experience of being around more kids. 

These are some pictures we took last weekend when we were both there:

DSCN2198.jpg
DSCN2200.jpg
DSCN2206.jpg
DSCN2213.jpg
DSCN2214.jpg
Pouty face turned around real quick!

DSCN2221.jpg
Perfect form.
DSCN2222.jpg
DSCN2232.jpg
DSCN2239.jpg
DSCN2243.jpg
They get stamps on their feet at the end; this week he was a cute little mummy.

The rest of the weekend was a one-year old birthday party, dinner with grandparents, a long but successful trip to the Apple store (aka Brandon’s happy place- he finally bought a new Macbook Pro), a trip to the big playground, Mexican pizzas for dinner, and a family walk with a cute bundled up boy in the wagon. Nice.

Leave a Reply

